Women Running in Texas

Significance of State

The upcoming election will test if what Democrats hope and Republicans fear is true; once-safe Red states like Texas are increasingly progressive and purple. In 2018, Democrats flipped two congressional seats and twelve Texas House seats blue. The 2020 elections will determine if this Democratic momentum will withstand, and hopefully prove that Republicans no longer have a strong hold on Texas.

Adrienne Bell ~ U.S. House, District 14

Adrienne Bell is running to represent the 14th District. In November 2020, she'll run against Republican incumbent Randy Weber.

Candace Valenzuela ~ U.S. House, District 24

Candace Valenzuela is running to represent Texas' 24th District. In November, she will face Republican Beth Van Duyne. This District's current Representative is Republican Kenny Marchant. Marchant chose to not seek re-election.

Carol Iannuzzi ~ U.S. House, District 26

Carol won her primary and will go on to face Republican incumbent Michael C. Burgess, Libertarian Mark Boler and Independents William Cunningham and Jay Taylor. In 2016, Michael C. Burgess won against the Democratic contender with 59.4% of the vote, so this is a competitive race.

Carolyn Salter ~ U.S. House, District 5

Carolyn Salter is running to represent Texas' 5th District. She won the Democratic Primary in March 2020 and is on the ballot in the general election in November 2020. She will run against incumbent Republican Lance Gooden. Gooden voted against the impeachment of President Trump when the vote came before the U.S. House earlier this year.

Donna Imam ~ U.S. House, District 31

Donna Imam is running to represent Texas' 31st Congressional District. She won her party's nomination in July, and will face incumbent Republican John Carter, who has represented this district since 2003. Carter voted against impeaching President Trump for charges of abuse of power and obstruction of Congress.

Elizabeth Hernandez ~ U.S. House, District 8

Elizabeth Hernandez is running to represent the 8th District. In November, she'll run against incumbent Republican Kevin Brady. Brady has held this seat since 1997 and voted against impeaching President Trump for the charge of abuse of power and obstruction of congress.

Gina Ortiz Jones ~ U.S. House, District 23

Gina Ortiz Jones is running to represent Texas' 23rd District. This seat was previously held by Republican Will Hurd who announced that he would not seek reelection in August 2019. Gina won the Democratic nomination in March 2020. In November, she'll face Libertarian, Independent, and Republican challengers. The battle for this seat is competitive based on Hurd's narrow win in the 2018 election (49.2-48.7%). Independent election observers rate the district as lean Democratic in 2020.

Julie Oliver ~ U.S. House, District 25

Julie ran for this position in 2018 and lost to incumbent Roger Williams, whoreceived 53.5 percent of the vote. She faces him again this election cycle.

Lisa Welch ~ U.S. House, District 12

Lisa Welch is running to represent Texas' 12th District. She is on the November 3 general election ballot. She will run against incumbent Republican Kay Granger. Granger has supported President Trump's policies and sought his endorsement for her reelection bid.

Lizzie Pannill Fletcher ~ U.S. House, District 7

Lizzie Pannill Fletcher is running for re-election as the incumbent representing the 7th District for the U.S. House of Representatives. In 2018, she won against nine-term Republican incumbent John Culberson. In November 2020, Lizzie will run against Republican Wesley Hunt and Libertarian Shawn Kelly

Lulu Seikaly ~ U.S. House, District 3

In July, Lulu Seikaly won the Democratic Primary and advanced to the general election. She's running to represent Texas' 3rd District. She will face incumbent Republican Van Taylor. Taylor is serving his first term in the U.S. House.

MJ Hegar ~ U.S. Senate

MJ previously ran for Congress in 2018 and moved the Democrat needle 20 points in a Republican-held incumbent district, ultimately falling short by less than 3 percentage points. Now, she’s back and running for Texas Senate, scheduled to take part in the Democratic primary runoff on July 14, 2020. Should MJ earn the Democratic nomination for Senate, she will seek to overthrow John Cornyn, an incumbent Republican who has been in Washington since 2002.

Sheila Jackson Lee ~ U.S. House, District 18

Sheila Jackson Lee has been representing the 18th Congressional District. since 1995. She is on the ballot in November 2020. She will run against one of two GOP candidates: Robert Cadena or Wendell Champion.

Sima Ladjevardian ~ U.S. House, District 2

Sima Ladjevardian is running to represent Texas' 2nd District. She won the Democratic primary on March 3, 2020 against two Democratic challengers. In November's general election, she's running against incumbent Republican Dan Crenshaw. Crenshaw voted against the impeachment of President Donald Trump.

Sylvia Garcia ~ U.S. House, District 29

Sylvia Garcia is the incumbent for the Texas' 29th U.S. House Congressional District. In November, she'll face Republican Jaimy Annette Zoboulikos-Blanco and Libertarian candidate Phil Kurtz.

Veronica Escobar ~ U.S. House, District 16

Veronica Escobar is the current incumbent for the U.S. House 16th District. In March, she won her Primary race and will be on the general election ballot in November, she will face one of two Republican candidates: Irene Armendariz-Jackson or Samuel Williams Jr.

Wendy Davis ~ U.S. House, District 21

Wendy Davis returns to the campaign trail after a five year absence from politics to try and unseat the unpopular freshman Republican Representative Chip Roy. She's on teh November General Election ballot, running to represent Texas' 21 District.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 by Women To Win | Created with Wix.com |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy